universal credit

Universal Credit is a means-tested benefit for people in or out of work.

It replaces six legacy benefits: Income Support, Income-based Jobseeker’s Allowance, Income-related Employment and Support Allowance, Housing Benefit, Child Tax Credit and Working Tax Credit.

If you are currently claiming any of these benefits, or your circumstances change and you need to claim welfare benefits in the future, you will need to claim Universal Credit. Universal Credit is currently available for families with fewer than three children in Brighton & Hove and East Sussex except for Lewes. It is expected to be rolled out to Lewes in July 2018.

At the moment, the government plans to begin offering Universal Credit to families with three or more children from 1st February 2019 – although most families will only be able to claim the child component for the first two children.

What is Universal Credit
Who can claim Universal Credit?
New responsibilities
The impact for families with disabled children
How to claim Universal Credit
Transitional protection
How to challenge a decision about Universal Credit



Sign up to our newsletter